Featured: Terry Hancock

M31 Andromeda Galaxy (NGC 224)
Taken By: Terry Hancock
This guy is crazy. He has a collection of some of the most fantastic examples of astrophotography I have ever seen. And I don’t mean star trails. This is all-out serious stuff. He has basically constructed his own little observatory of awesome, so you should check it out!

3 responses to “Featured: Terry Hancock

    • Terry has a real thought out set up, but I agree. It is amazing that people can go out and produce such high quality images of the sky by themselves. Just a few centuries ago, none of these systems were even discovered! So awesome

  1. Thanks guys, I’m really flattered. There are some great photos on this blog and I’m honored that you featured my M31 shot.
    It’s possibly my best shoot to date, my later version you can see on my flickr was a culmination of over 18 hours worth of 15 minute exposures using the Canon 5D Mark II. It really is an amazing camera for this type of work allowing me to capture enormous fields of view when coupled to the TMB 130SS (5″ refractor).

    It has been a very steep learning curve for me and I have made a lot of mistakes along the way particularly with selection of equipment. Good astrophotography requires a very stable mount, I’m fortunate to have an american made Mountain Instruments German Equatorial mount on a concrete pier, for long exposures of 15 minutes or more, it’s ideal.

    I am looking forward to doing lots of shooting this winter where I hope we get some cold but crystal clear nights.
    All the best
    Terry Hancock

Leave a Reply

