Vivitar 13mm f/2.8 Lens Review


A review of the all manual Vivitar 13mm f/2.8 at Marsh Creek State Park by Roman.

Final Verdict: 8/10
Pros:
Good build quality
Works on full-frame cameras
Comes with bag and a good lens cap
Super wide
Great value for money
Reasonably Sharp (even wide open)

Cons:
Complex distortion
Tough to mount or remove the lens on your camera
Plastic-feeling built-in hood
Lens flare

5 responses to “Vivitar 13mm f/2.8 Lens Review

  1. Thanks for the review. The camera work is so horrible that I couldn’t rate this video higher than a 1 star. I would also suggest posting the images. I would also suggest using a few scenes rather than a lake and sky… they don’t show the characteristics of the lens very well.

    • We’re sorry you didn’t like the video. You made some valid points, but please keep in mind that we are merely college students who do this in their free time. I wish we could bring you more quality videos, perhaps once summer roles around that may be possible. If you would prefer a more detailed, but written review, please give us a heads up!

  2. Thank you for the review, but I must agree about the video!!

    You don’t need expensive video equipment – just put it on a tripod, and ditch the artsy-fartsy focus effects – get the subject in focus with a stable viewing platform, and let it stand. Even, ditch the video and post a few pictures – ideally at least one series (f/2.8, f/11, f/22) of a brick wall or a grid pattern head-on, so we can see the distortion.

  3. I like your style of reviewing. It is nice and clear and to-the-point and I think you should do some more but I was a bit distracted too by the shakiness and the audio too. I would like to see good reviews of most of these inexpensive lenses, as not many people seem to take them very seriously but I’ve heard good things about some of them

  4. Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed
    surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing in your rss feed and I am hoping you write once more soon!

Leave a Reply

