Photography Challenge: Indoors

Is anyone else suffering through winter with me right now? Well, if it’s winter where you live and you are anything like me then you probably want to stay out of the cold whenever possible and might not have left your house for the past few days (kidding). Regardless, cold weather often stops me from going out to look for shots to take; in fact, it’s quite common for many photographers to feel like they are in a slump over the long, dark, winter months. However, this doesn’t mean that you are doomed to a bleak, photoless season spent indoors. Make the most of it! Today, I challenge you to go around the inside of your house and look for something neat to take a picture of. Personally, I recommend that you try to capture some gritty details (maybe you could even experiment with HDR), or try to make something common look abstract. You never know what you’ll come up with. Oh, and just a little tip from me: attics, basements, and other places with old nic-nacs stored away can be gold mines! So, get up from your bed (but stay in your pajamas) and go exploring in the comfort of your own home. If you do take any pictures, please post a link in the comments. I would love to see what you come up with!

My example picture for this challenge is actually take quite some time ago, but it does fit the bill for this challenge. I even got to use nothing but ambient light to take it. Laziness prevails!
Lissome

Now, stay warm and go make yourself some more hot chocolate.

2 responses to “Photography Challenge: Indoors

  1. I really like this zipper. :) Really cool. And I want some cold, cloudy weather. I’m in Santa Fe, and it’s chilly and supposed to get colder (like in the 30’s for highs), but still it will be bright as summer and it just is not conducive for staying inside and shooting things. :) Great image! :)

  2. Thank you so much for commenting, and I’m glad that you like the picture :) I admire your zeal and would love to see your pictures (should you find the weather you are looking for!) Good luck!

Leave a Reply

